Winner 2017: Terrence Zhang


What are the contest categories?

There are 4 main categories: 1) Exteriors. 2) Interiors. 3) Sense of Place. 4) Buildings in Use.

In addition to the four main categories, there are two ‘special’ categories: 5) Portfolio - a Cultural Building. 6) Mobile Architectural Photography.

Who can enter?

The 6 categories are open to all ages and nationalities.

Any entrant under 18 on 1st July 2018 must gain the permission of a parent or guardian to enter the competition. Entrants under the age of 13 on 1st July 2018 are not permitted to enter.

You can find other eligibility criteria here

What are the key dates?

The six categories in The Architectural Photography Awards 2018 will be open for submissions from 15th March to 1st July 2018.

A shortlist of 20 images taken from the 4 main categories will decided by the judging panel and announced on 1st October 2018. Entries featured on the shortlist will be considered for the overall winners’ prize and will be exhibited at the World Architecture Festival (WAF) in Amsterdam, 28th-30th November.

The overall winner will be decided by visitors to WAF, who will cast votes on the 20 images in the main awards’ shortlist to produce an overall winner and three runners up. The winners will be announced at the WAF Gala dinner on Friday 30th November 2018.

The winner of the portfolio category will be decided by the judging panel, and announced at the WAF Gala dinner on Friday 30th November 2018.

There is no shortlist in the mobile photography category. Instead, there will be two winners announced – one chosen by the judging panel, and the other decided by a community vote on Photocrowd that will run from 2nd July to 30th November 2018. The two winners from this category will be announced at the WAF Gala dinner on Friday 30th November 2018.

How many images can I enter?

You can enter up to 6 images in each of the 6 categories. There is a minimum requirement of 4 images in the portfolio category (maximum 6).

How much does it cost to enter?

The cost is based on the number of images you want to enter. Entries are bought in advance and can then be used at any time before 23:59:59 UTC on the Sunday 1st July 2018. The following entry bundles are available, and entries can be used across any of the 6 categories:

1 image - £8 (£8 per image)

6 images - £30 (£5 per image)

36 images - £72 (£2 per image)

A discount on the price of entry bundles of 5%, 10% or 20% is available for Photocrowd Challenger, Pro or Master subscribers, respectively.

Multiple bundles can be purchased (eg 3 x 1 image bundles = 3 total entries) but the maximum number of entries that can be made across all 6 categories is 36 (6 images per category).

Can I enter the same image into multiple categories?

Yes, the same image can be entered into multiple categories, if you consider that it fits the brief for each category you enter it into.

Images shot on mobile phones are eligible for entry into any of the categories, not just the mobile phone category.

Each entry to a category counts as one entry, for the purposes of payment.

How many times can I enter the awards?

Each photographer can enter the awards once, using one Photocrowd account. More than one image bundle can be purchased, but there is a maximum of 36 images that can be entered by each photographer – 6 into each of the 6 categories.

How does the portfolio category work?

To enter this category you must enter between 4 and 6 images, which will then be judged as a series, rather than as single images. It is up to each entrant whether they enter 4, 5 or 6 images to this category. Entering more images will not necessarily increase your chances of winning.

Can I withdraw or swap an image once I’ve entered it?

If the awards are still open for entries then at any time you can remove an entered image and enter a different one in its place. Once the deadline for entries has passed, and judging is underway, images cannot be removed or swapped out for other images.

Do I have to sign up to Photocrowd to enter?

Yes, there’s a simple signup process to register on Photocrowd, which will then give you full access to The Architectural Photography Awards.

Can images be taken on a phone?

Yes, images can be taken on any device capable of producing a digital image of sufficient size for entry. For full guidelines on minimum image requirements see the Preparing Your Images page. Only images taken on a mobile phone or tablet can be entered into the ‘Mobile Architectural Photography’ category.

Do images have to be taken in the United Kingdom?

No, The Architectural Photography Awards is an international competition and you may enter photographs taken anywhere in the world.

Can I enter a photo that has previously won another photo awards?

No, if your photo has previously won a photo awards, it is not eligible in The Architectural Photography Awards. This does not include standard Photocrowd contests.

Is there a restriction on how long ago my images were taken?

Yes, all entries must have been taken in the last 5 years. Any images shot before 15th March 2013 are not eligible.

Is there a minimum size for images?

There is a recommended minimum file size of 5000 pixels* on the longest side. Full guidelines on image requirements are provided on the Preparing Your Images page.

*recommendation not applicable in the ‘Mobile Architectural Photography’ category, where we advise that you use the highest resolution possible for your phone or tablet.

Can I submit retouched images?

There are some restrictions on the use of digital manipulation. Full guidelines on what image manipulation and retouching is allowed are provided on the Preparing Your Images page.

How should I prepare my images for submission?

Full guidelines on image preparation are provided on the Preparing Your Images page.

Ryan Koopmans

2018 Awards in association with

Keep up to date with the awards