Pedro Jarque Krebs - 2018 Winner


BPOTY 2019 is closed to entries

The 2019 competition is now closed

Judging and crowd-rating are now underway in BPOTY 2019. The panel’s shortlist and crowd vote winners will be announced 31st January 2019.

See all the categories


Bird Photographer of the Year is a competition that celebrates the artistry of bird photography, promotes photographers, and supports conservation.

Over £17,000 in Awards & Prizes

In addition to the main prize of £5,000, our Best Portfolio prize this year is a camera and lens combination from Olympus worth over £3,500. Our sponsors Swarovski Optik, Wildlife Worldwide, Alamy and Country Innovation are providing other prizes of equipment, holiday vouchers, professional advice and clothing. Please see our prizes page for more details.

See the prizing details

Great Awards Have Great Judges

Headed by Chris Packham, we have assembled an experienced and diverse panel of judges including: wildlife photographers Rebecca Nason, David Tipling, Victoria Hillman and Brian E. Small; editors Matt Merritt of Bird Watching Magazine and Matt Bennett of Digital Photographer Magazine; Head of Content at Alamy, Alan Capel; and Georgina Pavelin from Olympus. See the Judging Panel page for full details.

Learn more about the judges

Previous Winners

Congratulations go to our overall Bird Photographer of the Year winner 2018, Pedro Jarque Krebs from Peru for his explosive image of American Flamingos which also won the Creative Imagery category. Pedro follows in the footsteps of previous winners Alejandro Prieto Rojas (2017) and Andy Parkinson (2016).

Explore all the winning images

Bird Photographer Book published by William Collins

Each year the Bird Photographer of the Year book is released to celebrate the competition. The book has over 250 pages featuring more than 230 images from all around the globe. It is an important element in the BPOTY competition, providing the opportunity for the competition entrants to get their work published and displayed to a world-wide audience.

Learn more

Awards Supporters

Keep abreast of the Awards

Follow us on