photo awards
Photos: 2021 Shortlist

Sense of Place

Part of The Architectural Photography Awards 2022

Open Judging Results

The ‘Sense of Place’ category should show buildings or spaces in their wider context and environment. Illustrate if the building blends or jars with its surroundings. Is the building typical of its location? Is the building in an atmosphere, a mist or rain?

Winners in the Architectural Photography Awards will share a $4,250 (USD) cash prize fund, and gain exposure through the World Architecture Festival.

Prize details

There are three awards in the competition – the Overall award, the Portfolio category award, and the Mobile category award – with two winners in each.

In the overall award, the jury's chosen winner will take home $2,000, and the WAF delegates' winner will receive $1,000.

The jury's portfolio winner will receive $750, and the WAF delegates' portfolio winner will win $250.

In the mobile category, the jury's favourite will win $150, with $100 going to the delegates' choice.

The awards will have exposure via the World Architecture Festival.

The winners will be announced during The World Architecture Festival, Lisbon, the evening of Friday 2nd December 2022.

How it works

This contest is expert judged only with no rating by the crowd. You will be able to find out how you did when the judging or rating period has closed.

Entries closed
28 August 2022

28 August 2022 to 31 October 2022

Expert judge shortlist announced
31 October 2022

Expert judge winners announced
2 December 2022

Explore other The Architectural Photography Awards 2022 contests